A Filmic Journey 21/09/16

Idea behind the film

I originally wanted to achieve a film in the style of ‘Cloverfield’. A film directed by Matt Reeves where a group of friends using a handheld video camera record their struggle to survive as New York crumbles around them.

When I tried to film this I later realised that it was possibly the worst idea ever for the criteria set and the story board we were given, so I had a re think. We needed to have shots of something we care about so I chose cars. We also needed something thats in the news at the moment and so I chose traffic since its constantly there and in the news and I could easily gets shots of that.

Director influences

My director influences are Danny Boyle and his film ’28 days later’ since I wanted to achieve the same sense of mystery and suspense that he is able to capture.

But…

It’s so unfair. I’ve filmed it twice and lost the footage both times. This now looks worse than awful as it looks like I haven’t tried and I wont have anything to hand in tomorrow. FFS!

Finally!

Film making can be incredibly tedious sometimes for example; there always has to be something that goes wrong! But after searching and then having to basically re edit the film. I managed to recover the clips and edit the film to how I wanted it. I have now learned from my mistakes and I suppose its probably best to make the mistakes on the first assignment, rather than a later, more important one.

Shot 1 – something you care about

For this I chose to film abandoned shops that once were busy. The only thing this abandoned bus station offers now is a place for the homeless and a possible filming location. I care about the homeless a lot and will often give them some spare change if I have any.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 11.56.59.png

Shot 2 – pull focus

For this I originally got the camera to focus on me when I was just over a metre away. The background was therefore blurry so walked far enough away so I could have a shot were I walk into the focus from the blurred area.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 12.10.24.png

Shot 3 – Everyday observation

Not much to say about this one, its something people see and used everyday when using the bus station.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 12.13.26.png

Shot 4 – Unfair perception/ stereotype

This shot basically says how people are worried about something when alone in abandoned places.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 12.19.09.png

Shot 5 – Important moment in my life

This shot shows something moving on its own. This is important to me because I tried to re create a paranormal event that happened to me last year.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 12.28.11.png

Shot 7 – Influenced by another filmmaker

I wanted to achieve a similar feel to Oren Peli’s ‘Paranormal Activity’. With things moving and flying around a room on their own! So I tried to re create something similar.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 15.01.45.png

Shot 8 and Shot 9 – cause and effect.

After the crate moves I stop and hear a noise or distorted voice and so this makes me take out my camera on my phone and record it as proof.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 15.10.18.png

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 15.11.41.png

Final Shot – ending

This is the final and scariest shot where I show the film through what my camera phone is seeing in the style of Cloverfield. I personally love the suspense and the build up and it is very much inspired by Matt Reeves. There is also a cliff hangar ending with a jump scare and distorted vision to scare the audience.

Leave a Reply

