She wants edit

This is my edit of our course’s ‘She Wants’ remake. ‘She wants’ is a song by the band Metronomy. The music video was released in 2011 and so every year the first year students in Creative Media remake it in their own way. Each year its different as the students think of their own ideas, making it original.

Everyone on the course got involved and played a part in it. At the end we received the footage via google drive and made our own edits. The edit was simple, yet time consuming as I changed the speed of the clip to the speed of the music as it happens. Meaning the music would get faster briefly then back to normal. I think by doing this, it makes the music video that bit more impressive and adds more excitement to it.

With colour grading I chose to increase the contrast slightly and crush the blacks. This left the clip looking more cinematic as it’s made the colours appear darker. I of course had some issues with the colour grading that I had to overcome. I learned how to fade in the colour grading from one bit to another. I needed to do this as the shot goes from light, to dark in a matter of seconds. This is because theres a complete contrast in light as the camera goes from being next to windows, to being in an unlit hall. Either way I am happy with the result and I’m still improving.

We shot the video at 50 frames per second, and at 720p. We did this to allow the film clip to slow down to half speed but not go under 25 frames a second, which allows the film to still be smooth. If the film goes under 24 fps then you will notice the difference in smoothness as it looks less and less smooth, the lower the frame rate.

It took four takes to get the right one, but it was worth it in the end. Everyone had to bring in their own props to either wear them selves or give to someone else to allow variation in the video. For the first time in my life I wore a rubber rabbit mask, and loved it.

Overall making this music video was a lot of fun and I throughly enjoyed it. I found that everyone sprinting around behind the camera was both funny and exciting as we had to all get into position outside before the camera turns at the end.

Leave a Reply

