Proposal for my FMP

UAL Awarding Body – Level 3 Diploma

Unit 8 – Project Proposal

Name James Reader
Pathway Short action-based film
Project Title Final Major Project – Engage
Section 1: Rationale (Approx 100 words)
So far I have learned many new skills on how to focus and shoot better quality footage on DSLR cameras. I am now more experienced with working in groups with people that I haven’t met before and I can now confidently manage people. I am best and most passionate about making action films and I’m confident with working for clients with different views on what they think is a ‘good film’. I’m experienced in operating sound equipment and recording sound in general. I can use editing programs like Adobe; Premier, Photoshop and after effects, displaying my ability to edit out green screens using chroma key.

 

Section 2: Project Concept (approx 200 words)
My aim for FMP is to produce a short 6-minute action film. I want to showcase cinematography, and script writing skills and then plan the film accordingly. I will act in my film and direct people to help me record these scenes, otherwise, I will take control of the filming process and make sure I sound record everything. Additionally, I’m going to edit everything myself either at home or at college to show I can manage the project independently.

I intend to make a short action film which is around 6 minutes long. My FMP will reference famous action films like Jason Bourne and The Raid for the action.

giphy.gif

Plus Batman v Superman for the visual style and lack of saturation in the image. 

200_s

I’ll plan the filming in a detailed manner. Before production begins I’ll research into Quentin Tarantino and his directing style. Especially in Reservoir Dogs. I need to learn more about editing an action sequence so I will look into YouTube tutorials and existing examples of scenes I like. My film will look dark and desaturated like The Raid giving a negative and hostile feeling to it.  

 

Section 3: Evaluation (approx 50 words)
I will show my idea to people and see what they think and if they like it. This is important as getting honest feedback is always productive. I will listen and keep going back and checking my progress to see whether I am still happy with the current result. I will make the most of the group crits and complete a final evaluation hat reflects upon my targets and whether I achieved them.
Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format)
Citethisforme.com – Harvard referencing.
En.wikipedia.org. (2017). Tim Miller (director). [online] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Miller_(director) [Accessed 18 Apr. 2017].
En.wikipedia.org. (2017). Tim Miller (director). [online] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Miller_(director) [Accessed 18 Apr. 2017].
Vimeo. (2017). Who’s Who on a Movie Crew?. [online] Available at: https://vimeo.com/blog/post/whos-who-on-a-movie-crew [Accessed 18 Apr. 2017].
YouTube. (2017). How to Direct like Quentin Tarantino – Visual Style Breakdown. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGbwLLVIy8U [Accessed 24 Apr. 2017].
YouTube. (2017). How To Make A Long Take | Film Theory. [online] Available at: https://youtu.be/pJ2szv_ZXkU [Accessed 24 Apr. 2017].
McGregor, L., McGregor, L. and McGregor, L. (2017). The Sequence Shot – Indie Tips. [online] Indie Tips. Available at: http://www.indietips.com/cinematography-sequence-shot/ [Accessed 25 Apr. 2017].
Brown, B. (2016). Cinematography. 1st ed. [Place of publication not identified]: Focal, pp.64 – 69.
The Perfect Machine. (2017). Empire, (335), pp.92 to 95.En.wikipedia.org. (2017). Reservoir Dogs. [online] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reservoir_Dogs [Accessed 26 Apr. 2017].

En.wikipedia.org. (2017). Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. [online] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batman_v_Superman:_Dawn_of_Justice [Accessed 26 Apr. 2017].

En.wikipedia.org. (2017). The Raid (2011 film). [online] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Raid_(2011_film) [Accessed 26 Apr. 2017].

Leave a Reply

