Research on silenced pistols. And spy weapons.

One thing I’ve always wanted to do is make an action film in the style of a James Bond movie. I knew that it would be too much of a challenge to make a full on agent film for my FMP but I wanted to include some references. Jack’s character in my FMP ‘The mutant’ has a silenced pistol like James Bond does. As the mutant ‘never misses a shot’ I emulated the ruthless efficiency that James Bond has, showing Jack’s character with the same level of threat and brutality making the film more sinister and really emphasising the danger that’s to come.

Last Thursday I watched the Bond film ‘Goldeneye’. It’s one of my favorites for its unique action and story. I absolutely love Pierce Brosnan playing the character as he fits the role so perfectly. It was the Pierce Brosnan James Bond films that got me interested in the franchise.

Goldeneye_1995_big

A problem with a silenced pistol prop was neither myself or anyone I knew had one. So I looked online for cheap plastic, brightly colored airsoft ones that I could just spray paint black to make it look realistic. I’ve sprayed the cheaper bright plastic BB guns black before and it seems to work really well so I was confident that if I bought a silenced pistol that’s the right size then it would work fine. This is the one a found online.

img_3326.png
After seeing the price I was actually considering buying that but I didn’t in the end. I actually made a silenced pistol completely from scratch!

o

Well, I basically found a light gun controller for my old PlayStation. Didn’t really think anything of it at first. But then put a metal pipe I found next to it that I very luckily found in the garage, (I don’t know it’s original purpose) but asked my parents whether I could use it for making a prop and they said ‘yes’! Now with the all clear, I then made this.


It’s almost like they were meant to go together! I was both shocked and delighted as they fit really well! The only problem was the barrel looks too long which is a shame. But I didn’t let that bother me and superglued them together.

After letting the glue set, I sprayed it up with its first coat.


I unscrewed the handle so I could remove the wood part so I could add that back on when it’s finished. So far I’m happy with my result. I bought a new full can of Black Halfords spray paint to remove the possibility of it running out on me during the painting of what was becoming the silenced pistol.

I wanted to make the prop myself as I’ve seen video tutorials on youtube before on how people have transformed things like ‘Nerf Blasters’ into polished looking props. A video I saw recently which had inspired me to make my own was the video below!

After the paint on my prop had dried. I screwed the wooden handle back on and judged whether I was happy with how it was.


Although I was over the moon with the way it turned out I still wanted to make it as polished as possible, so I added in some finishing touches with the paint.


This is the finished product. Can honestly say that I’m thrilled with the result. It was an incredibly exciting task with the most rewarding outcome. All I can say is I’m proud of myself and I’m grateful for the YouTube tutorials that have inspired my idea. I’ve never managed to do anything like this before my FMP either so it truly was a great new experience.

Next year I hope to do the same or similar.

Leave a Reply

